D, Which Unfortunately Wasn’t For Ducks

You may have noticed that I have been absent from the blogging world lately. I spent the last nine days dealing with a case of food poisoning. It was quite possibly the most miserable I have ever felt. And poor Lucien was stuck with me for the duration! We made the best of the situation, though, and managed to have some fun together. I had to find creative ways to engage him in play at home that did not require me to be terribly active. Lucien even made up a get-well song for me. It was very cute.
First we have our (very belated!) Easter photos. Lucien woke up early as usual, ran over to his baskets, and said, “Look Mama, Easter Bunny came!” He loved blowing bubbles with his new Thomas bubble whistle, and carrying around his toys in his new Thomas basket. He also organized all of his Easter eggs inside of his new Easter food tray.
photo 1 (20) photo 2 (19) photo 3 (18)
He got a gift card for Barnes and Noble inside of his basket from Grandma and Grandpa, and he was so excited to go explore. All he wanted was a wooden train track set for his Thomas engine, so that is what we got. As an added bonus, the track is the same gage as his name train, so Thomas can pull the Lucien cars!
 photo 3 (17) photo 2 (18) photo 1 (19)photo 4 (13)
Lucien loves pointing out the letters in his name, and he loves working with the magnetic letters on the freezer at our pretend “classroom.” He is currently calling me Mrs. Sump, and we work together identifying letters and then making words. He might help me find the letters in the word cat, and then I might ask him to find a B and we will make the word bat instead – simple games like that.
This week our letter was supposed to be D, and D was going to be for ducks. It didn’t happen quite as I had hoped. We did make it to the library to pick up a few books, though. This week we were reading “Quack and Count,” “Double the Ducks,” and “One Duck Stuck.” As you can see, I had a number theme as well as a duck theme planned.
D was also for digging in the dirt. Lucien and I transplanted the red ginger from the garden at the Discovery Center into larger pots in the he back yard, and he has been watering them diligently since.
photo 2 (17) photo 1 (18)
I have also begun a word wall at home. Lucien will point to the letters and ask about the words, and he even helped me to assemble the D page. We already have a very print-rich environment in our house, but I figured that a little more couldn’t hurt. Plus, it livens up our plain white walls. And Lucien so loves the process of cutting out the pieces using my scrapbook equipment!
photorrr
We will be back next week with the letter E, in better health, more energetic, and with more engaging activities.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

